Lavender Lotion Bars

I was on the look out for something  non-food related, but that was homemade to use as a gift idea.  I found these homemade lotion bars at Frugal Family Home and decided to give them a try.  I ordered my ingredients and molds from Amazon.com and went to work.  I never knew that making your own lotion bars could be this easy and, let me tell you, they really moisturize.  My hands felt great just working with the ingredients, but I will say that it was a little hard to get all of the melted product out of my molds and utensils.  It was worth it.

IMG_2709

1 cup beeswax

1 cup shea butter

1 cup almond oil

10 drops lavender essential oil

IMG_2660

IMG_2662

Place the beeswax and shea butter in a microwave safe dish.  A glass measuring cup works great for this.  Microwave the mixture for 30 second intervals, stirring after each.  It will take a while for the beeswax to melt so don’t lose patience.  Once the beeswax and shea butter are melted, stir in the almond oil and lavender oil.

Pour the liquid into silicone molds and let it cool.  One the bars are set, remove them from the molds.  They look so pretty stored in a clear jar where you can see the different shapes.

IMG_2703

Leave a Reply

