The Winter Sea-A Book Review

The book “The Winter Sea” by Susanna Kearsley was recommended to me by Goodreads since I am a huge fan of Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series.   The two books do have a lot in common. Both deal with the Jacobite risings in Scotland, albeit two different ones.  Both are set in Scotland and have a time travel/fantasy hook as well.  Let me share the first paragraph of “The Winter Sea” with you:

“It wasn’t chance.  There wasn’t any part of it that happened just by chance.

I learned this later; though the realization, when it came, was hard for me to grasp because I’d always had a firm belief in self-determination.  My life so far had seemed to bear this out-I’d chosen certain paths and they had led to certain ends, all good, and any minor bumps that I had met along the way I could accept as not bad luck, but simply products of my own imperfect judgment.  If I’d had to choose a creed, it would have been the poet William Henley’s bravely ringing lines” I am the master of my fate; I am the captain of my soul.”

The person speaking is the main character, Carrie, who has moved to Scotland to write her next novel based loosely on the life of one of her ancestors.  Little does Carrie know, that when she starts walking the same paths that her ancestor did, she will also relive her memories and experiences.  For an Outlander fan like me, this was a really good book and full of interesting historical tidbits from an era that I know very little about.  I had never even heard of the Jacobite risings until I read Outlander and The Winter Sea opened up another little treasure chest of historical information on the first rising. 

If you like historical fiction with a little time travel and romance thrown in, give this book a try.  I don’t think you will be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

